Art Show: Jenna Snyder-Phillips Answers a Proust Questionnaire

Jenna Snyder-Phillips in her studio.

I have often seen impactful, awe-inspiring artwork in the airy and architectural spaces of the MoMA or the Prado, but it’s a rare thing to see a similarly grand piece in the private context of a home. When art and interior design merge, it reminds you of painting’s true purpose: to inspire living and to transport.

This happened to me for the first time a little over a year ago on a shoot for TradHome. When I visited the elegant space designed by Ryan Korban, I was immediately struck by the simple yet powerful work of Jenna Snyder-Phillips. Never had I been so immediately drawn to a piece. It’s an exciting thing to see some one articulate a vision of the world that speaks to you perfectly. And I think that Jenna’s work has that impact on a lot of people. She is an extremely successful artist, featured in numerous design projects. And now, the iconic black and white design store FLAIR has included numerous pieces of hers in their collection.

But, I was interested to see more, I wanted to go beyond the paintings. I have always been a fan of the Proust Questionnaire: it’s fun, short, and can really tell a lot about a person. So, I decided that this would be the best way to give us a better understanding of the woman behind the paintings.

Enjoy!

WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT STATE OF MIND?

Excited for Tuesday night’s opening at Flair!

WHAT IS YOUR MOST TREASURED POSSESSION?

My Nikon camera. It helps me capture inspiration to take back to the studio.

WHAT IS YOUR COCKTAIL OR DRINK OF CHOICE?

A bottle of champagne shared with friends.

WHAT ARE THE QUALITIES YOU ADMIRE MOST IN A MAN?

Confidence, elegance, and a great laugh!

WHAT ARE THE QUALITIES YOU ADMIRE MOST IN A WOMAN?

All of the same qualities I admire in a man. I like a strong personality, just like you see in my models!

WHAT IS YOUR ICONIC DESIGN PIECE?

The Jaguar XKE. It’s the only car in MoMA’s collection. The curve of the front hood reminds me of a single fliud brush stoke.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE GALLERY OR MUSEUM?

The Galeria dell’Academia. It’s the home of Michelangelo’s David. When I lived in Florence I use to go every Thursday night to sketch their collection of figurative marble statues.

WHICH ARTIST IS THE MOST UNDERRATED?

Painters.  Painting is one of the most classic forms of art which can be overlooked today as technology is everywhere.  A brush stroke cannot be erased or fixed after it’s applied. That’s what I love about painting-Each stroke counts!

WHERE DO YOU FEEL THE MOST INSPIRED?

New York.  I’m always meeting someone or something new. You can’t help but feel inspired!

WHAT IDEA OR SAYING DO YOU LIVE BY?

Go big or go home. Just like my paintings…larger than life!

“Fontelina I” by Jenna Snyder-Phillips. Available at FLAIR.

“Flora” by Jenna Snyder-Phillips. At FLAIR.


“Eden No. 11” by Jenna Snyder-Phillips. At FLAIR.

“Fontelina II” by Jenna Snyder-Phillips. Available at FLAIR.

Jenna’s  “Skull No. 4” painting arranged as part of a vignette, showing us that art does not always have to go on walls. Photo by Patrick Cline for Lonny Mag.

Comments
One Response to “Art Show: Jenna Snyder-Phillips Answers a Proust Questionnaire”
  1. timruane24 says:

    Marvelous masterful high art.

Leave a Reply

