Inspiring Interiors: Mario Testino’s L.A. Home in Vogue

Mario Testino’s Home in L.A. Natalia Vodianovna modeling.

Images from Vogue.com

I won’t write much about this incredible home, designed and owned by renowned fashion photographer Mario Testino. The images speak for themselves and you can read all about it here.

What I would like to write quickly about is the use of fashion in what is clearly an interior design feature. One of the reasons I started this blog is because I believe that the world of interior design can often be too conventional and lacks a certain desire to push the bar. Having been an editor at Lonny Magazine I encountered all sorts of incredible talent. But I also came into contact with the notion that interior design is for women who are primarily focused on family and nesting. Now, I have nothing against either of those things; it’s important to create a “home” and to spend time with the people you care about, family, friends… But when it comes to creating art (for me, interior design is art), those shouldn’t be the main priorities. This is something the fashion industry seems to have grasped. Which is why, I think that using fashion in interior design is a fantastic way to bridge the gap, to communicate this concept of vanguardism. I just hope, that we get to see more fashion in interior design magazines and more interior design in fashion magazines. After all, they are two art forms that are focused on lifestyle. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

